top of page

Venetian Rose Blanket

Moving on with my about the ... series, I would like to keep the continuity going by focusing on the most recent of my blanket designs, the Venetian Rose Blanket.

This blanket was created to satisfy my desire to knit something in a gentle shade of pink, which also needed to accommodate all those knitters (including myself) who love to knit lace and don't mind making something that is more feminine in appearance.

Venetian Rose measures approximately 80cm (32") Wide x 100cm (39") Deep and like my other blanket designs it is intended to be suitable for wrapping baby in or for covering a bassinet, cradle or cot. And again, like the others - useful forever, being the perfect size for a (portable) knee rug in any situation where one may be useful.

There are three different stitch patterns to this one piece knit. Four if you count the simple, knitted in border. I would also point out here, that in order to keep things a bit more interesting all my blanket designs thus far have different, but always knitted in borders - and all row instructions include the borders/side edges. This pattern is a 4 page download. The instructions are clearly written. No charts are involved. Every abbreviation is accounted for. I recommend some experience of lace knitting before attempting this design and good manual dexterity is required for a neat appearance of the centre panel.

Once more, I used 8 balls of Naturally Yarns Loyal 8ply/DK - a New Zealand produced, 100% Wool Yarn with an approximate length of 105m/115yds per 50gram ball and which may be gently machine washed.

Venetian Rose is knitted on a 5mm/ USA 8 needle (a larger size than usual for this yarn) to add extra drape and softness. Although optional, I highly recommend the use of a circular needle and as mentioned elsewhere I now knit all my blankets (as well as some other items) on circulars. A viable option for most knitters, unless you tuck your knitting needles under your arms to knit. Circulars take the weight off your hands/ wrists, which can only be good for anyone who suffers from stiffness/soreness. They are also easier to travel with. If you haven't tried using circulars, then I suggest you have a go. You will be amazed at how much better it feels - and really, it makes this 'knitting life' life easier in so many ways!

In my next post, I will be focusing on another of my designs, yet to be decided upon - so please, watch this space!

(Purchase Options for all my designs are available here).

bottom of page