top of page

Soft Spots

I was going through some vintage patterns a little while ago and I once more stumbled on a garment pattern that has always stood out to me. Because of the way it looks, and also because of the stitch pattern. I decided that a hat based on this stitch pattern might be delicately lovely, and here is the result.

Listed today on Ravelry (elsewhere, next week sometime), and available with a special introductory offer, Soft Spot is named for the softness of the design, and also because of my fondness for vintage patterns. My 'soft spot' for them!

The reverse side of this circular knit is also rather lovely, and I would happily wear it with either side showing, so I consider it a fully reversible design. You get to choose how you wear it! Bonus! Included in the 4 page download are instructions for a more slouchy appearance if this is your preferred option. This is a hat that is very easy to wear and style.

This design would be suitable for a beginner in 'round' knitting. The only stitches used are knit and purl, and you can choose to follow the written instructions or work from the chart that is provided. With 5 sizes included in the pattern this hat is also suitable from toddlers through to adults. I designed the sample using Naturally Loyal DK, a popular New Zealand yarn. Any DK weight yarn with good stitch definition would be perfect.

I am offering this pattern FREE with the purchase of any pattern in my Ravelry Store of the same value, until 11.59 pm Friday 28 August, New Zealand Time. Just add this pattern to your Ravelry cart, apply the code: vintageknits - also add to your cart 1 or more of my other *qualifying designs and you will see the discount. Please also make sure this happens before you finalise the sale.

(*Patterns not eligible for this offer are: Advent Twinkle, City Chick Slouch & Nature Walk Beanie)

I hope you will enjoy this design. Please also feel free to share this offer with anyone who might appreciate it, and encourage your knitting friends to subscribe.

I hope you are all keeping well and managing to stay positive in these uncertain times.

Warm regards, and thanks again for your support.

Bronwyn

We all have soft spots, which determine how we react to things in life.

They dictate what touches our hearts, and sometimes inspire great things.

From our soft spots we can help ease the burden of another.

Or encourage those who may be struggling.

No matter how small we think the gesture we would like to make is,

to someone it might be just what they need.

We might be making someone's day if we listen to our hearts a bit more!

Sometimes all it takes is a kind word. Nothing is impossible when we open our hearts to others.

bottom of page