top of page

Above Rubies Cowl

Another design has made it into my Caron Cake Range, bringing the total pattern count in that Range alone, up to four. Well technically it's probably five, if you count the hat pattern included in the Blue Beat Set! Meet the Above Rubies Cowl ... the cowl that is more than just a cowl!

I loved the colours in this combo and was reminded of rubies, garnets - and even plain old, run of the mill stones, which we may tend to take for granted at times, but are actually important to us in so very many ways. Anyway, back to the colours! This Caron Cake is #17005 - Red Velvet. When I looked at this colour combo I decided I should come up with a design that needed to make the most of these lovely rich shades. Something special for maximum impact. Despite all the other ideas rolling around in my brain, I kept thinking about my Boston Connection Cowl design, finally deciding that I would use that as a guide and build on it, and hopefully arrive at a newer, multi coloured adaptation that is equally as impressive. It is similar, but it is also different. One very important difference is that this design is asymmetrical, whereas the Boston Connection Cowl is not.

Measuring 92cm (36'') in circumference and 41cm (16'') deep, the Above Rubies Cowl makes for an extremely versatile piece. Knitted in the round it incorporates some interesting textures, including bobbles, lacy look cables and slipped stitches. This design is recommended for knitters experienced with the above techniques. There are 4 pages to the download. It is simple to follow, with everything clearly laid out in the written instructions.

As well as being able to be worn as a cowl in a variety of ways, this item may also be worn as a shoulder wrap, or as a hood for extra warmth around the ears and neck. For some it could possibly also be worn around the upper body as an extra layer under a jacket or coat - for those of us meeting the size range for a possible adaptation, of course. It will only stretch so far! However, this is not a Tupperware party where we try to maximise the uses of a plastic container and see how many uses for it we can come up in order to try and sell it! This ... is a stylish accessory. A warm and cosy, stylish accessory!

Incidentally I haven't tried wearing it as another layer yet, but I must do, if only to prove my point! Please don't hold your breath waiting for photographic evidence! I nearly forgot, being asymmetrical - you get to decide which way is up with this item. according to how you decide to wear it!

I would point out a very important fact here also ... that I used a 6mm/USA 10 circular needle to arrive at a gauge/tension which is pretty close to the Caron Cakes recommended gauge/tension of 18.5 sts-24 rows per 10cm/4” on 5mm/USA 8 needles. I am a fairly firm knitter so I really would like to remind you if you are reading this … that just as gauge/tension can vary from person to person, so too can the amount of yarn used. There is never a guarantee that all knitters will use exactly the same amount of yarn or attain the same measurements, when knitting the same item to the same instructions. And this is worth noting for future reference. It really helps to avert disasters of the knitting kind, if we are informed of such important details prior to embarking on important projects!

The purchase options for all my designs may be found here. Simply click on the link, from which you can then choose your preferred online platform to download from.

bottom of page