top of page

Mochaccino Cowl

The Mochaccino Cowl is almost the last of my ONE CAKE DESIGN series, which are suitable for both the original Caron Cakes and the Original Lincraft Cakes, since they are identical in specs. I hope I can manage to churn out another one before I end the series! I have to admit though, that I am over this yarn now - because, I really feel like I have knitted it forever! It feels good to be on the home stretch, so to speak. I am keen to get stuck into some different designs and to use some of my more favourite yarns. I think am having some serious withdrawal symptoms! But let's get on with the show and tell!

As I started knitting with this particular Lincraft Cake, I thought of the Guylian Seashells Range of chocolate and my first experience with those melt in the mouth, bliss bites ... we took my cousin and a friend of ours on a (blind date!) trip to Australia in the 80's, and so successful was it that they presented us with a huge box of these chocolates at the end of the trip. Yes - they got together and yes, they ended up getting married the next year! But apart from that, my lips are sealed. This is a knitting blog, remember! Suffice to say, pleasant memories can be a side effect of the knitting experience, and gently hinted at!

I named the cowl Mochaccino because ... you can't have chocolate without coffee! Seriously! Well ok, if you're desperate! And for those who feel the pull of the beverage, you might like to check this out while we're on the topic of coffee and chocolate together: Home Made Iced Mochaccino.

There are 4 pages to the download for this design. This versatile accessory is knitted in the round and measures approximately 68-84 cm (27 -33'') around by 32-34cm (12-13'') deep. The 2 measurements allow for blocking, which opens up the design while expanding the measurement at the same time. It's a fairly basic knit, with featured knots that are worked without turning the knitting around, but which also have the appearance of small surface bobbles and give it a bit of extra texture. There is an eight row lace pattern which is fully detailed in the instructions and not difficult to work, if you have some experience of yarn overs and knitting into the back of stitches. I used a stretchy bind off to finish, but this is optional, and there are links given in the pattern to a couple of methods demonstrated on YouTube, should you wish to attempt this. It is not hard! And it's always fun to learn something new - right?

Because this is a gradient yarn and the design also changes by the time you get to the end, you may wear this cowl in a few different ways. You can even pull it up over your head if you get caught without a hat and need some warmth around the ears. For most people it would still cover the neck area as well. Should you wish to increase the depth of the cowl however, this would be easy enough to do by working in some extra rows of your favourite part of the design. I say this confidently because my sample used just over half a cake, and while I have enough left to make a hat or something smaller, there are those who may wish to just go further with the cowl instead.

You will not get 2 cowls out of one cake however, so please do not try to do so. You may get 3 cowls out of 2 cakes, but I wouldn't like to guarantee it.

So there we have it, the Mochaccino Cowl in all it's glory! A reminder that chocolate and coffee go well together, and guess what else? Since both are made from beans, I think I have to agree with so many others who believe that they should also be regarded as an essential part of the daily diet - but in moderation, of course!

Purchase options for all my designs, including this one may be found here.

(Simply click on the link, then choose your preferred online platform to purchase and download the pattern).

bottom of page