top of page

Introducing ...


Good to Go Knits - which now has a website! Welcome! My name is Bronwyn - and I'm a knitaholic! I know, I know - there are groups for people like me! But I thought ... that instead of joining one of them to berate myself about this desperate situation, I would do something different and start designing knitting patterns instead. Actually, that's not quite how it happened. The truth is, I worked for many years in the Retail Yarn Industry. And then, one day I had an epiphany and decided it was time for a change!

When I 'did my time' in retail I came up against many designs, that quite literally did my head in. Those were the times associated with customers coming in wanting help with the interpretation of (what I don't like to call) patterns in their possession. Seriously, I would class some of those 'patterns' as being written in a language of their own, and not languages commonly recognised, nor available on Google Translate! Not all of them were commercial patterns either, I hasten to add. Some of them had been downloaded as freebies off the internet. I didn't expect much from freebies, so no real problem there. Having said that I have seen some really well written freebies, so don't get me wrong on that score. But some of these patterns we were dealing with had actually been paid for, either from commercial sources or as internet downloads - which perturbed me a little bit. Ok, a lot! And so, seeds were planted in my mind ...

After I left the retail yarn industry in 2016 I found (surprise, surprise) I now had time to devote to other things. The first thing I did was start up the Facebook Group 'Knitting & Crochet Knowledge Bank' - literally overnight, on the evening of the day I left my retail position! Totally unplanned - it just happened. I had been responsible for starting and administering the facebook page for the store I worked in, and now that was over for me I suddenly realised I could actually do so much more! Combined with the fact that I wanted to be able to coordinate my online 'finds' in a more convenient way for me, the group option seemed a great way for me to be able do that. I thought a group of two (facebook minimum number) seemed a bit selfish though, so ... the rest is (recent) history! To date, as I write - we have 1132 members - since April, 2016. Come join us, if you dare!

Although I had already somewhat attempted to fill the new hole in my life with my new facebook group, I also found myself somehow drifting onto the pattern designing path. Actually that's not quite true either. I saw the signs, and I went for it! At the ripe old age of 57! I know - wonders will never cease! I will tell you more about how I started my design journey in another post.

Since November of 2016 I have published seven designs and I have more ideas using up the limited storage in my brain, waiting to be created. I am working on two designs simultaneously at the moment. Once upon a time I wouldn't have even had two projects on the go at once! I am amazing myself, and having a (yarn) ball - most of the time! I won't mention the times I have started down one track and ended up going down another - but that is part of the design process which I am finding out all too easily. It's a bit of a slow cooker/crockpot experience. Nothing happens in a hurry. However, I am encouraged by the interest I have had already and determined to persevere.

So, without further ado - welcome to my new website - created by ... me!

Also not an easy task. It's taken a while to get to this point. I am not selling my designs here, but there are links to them on a special page created for this, and there will be regular updates and blog posts. That is my intention.

I confess, it's a bit scary - letting this info out and loose to the general public!

But it's now - or never! I hope you will join me on the journey, and perhaps even learn a few things along the way. Watch THIS space!

Oh - and in case you were wondering, that's me in the photo - wearing my recently crocheted 'Hotel of Bees' Shawl (http://www.aspoonfulofyarn.com/) - rather appropriate for a beekeeper's wife, I thought.

bottom of page