top of page

Lolly Cake Shawl

Initially released a while ago now, this previously paid for pattern has been revamped, re knit , and is now ... a FREE PATTERN! Available in my Ravelry and LoveKnitting stores, the layout of this 4 page design is indicative of my pattern writing style & therefore a pretty good indication of what to expect from my other designs.

So how did the Lolly Cake Shawl get it's name?

Once upon a time, the beekeeper and I became parents. Which of course, gave us the perfect excuse to (among other things) occasionally indulge in sweet treats, most often on special occasions, of course. One such gastronomical delight was the iconic (Kiwi) Lolly Cake.

Although the exact origin of the recipe remains unknown, it has long been a favourite and pretty much everyone you talk to in New Zealand knows what you mean when Lolly Cake is mentioned. It was actually mentioned in a family conversation a little while back now, that Lolly Cake was usually the birthday cake of choice! Personally, I don't recall that being the case, and I certainly don't recall anyone ever complaining about it when it was brought out. I do however, remember discovering rather early on, that this cake was quick to make and easily moulded ... so, for birthday number one it made the perfect (number) 1... you can probably guess the rest!

I concede that it may have been used a few times as a (numbered) birthday cake. But having hunted out some photos since that particular dialogue took place ... I can categorically state that it wasn't always the birthday cake of choice! I have actually made some rather more complicated cakes since those early days so I shall choose to believe this one is remembered thus because it was loved so much.

The point to that little blast from the past is this. When I was knitting the original sample for this design, every time I picked it up, for some reason I always thought of Lolly Cake. The pattern name was obvious - and so it was titled in honour of this iconic Kiwi Sweet Treat, dear to the hearts of many!

More information and full details of yarn and needle requirements are given in the listings in the two online stores where this pattern is available for download. I have recently formed a Ravelry Group, so if you are an active Ravelry user please feel free to join. Please understand that because this design is now being offered as a FREE PATTERN, any questions you have will need to be asked via the Ravelry Group.

Original Sample (Reverse Side is larger photo)

(Original Sample Photo)

Thank you for your support of my designs thus far.

I hope to see many variations of this particular Lolly Cake out there in Social Media.

Don't forget to tag them so I can enjoy them too!

P.S If there is anyone who has purchased this pattern on sites other than Ravelry & Love Knitting, please contact me with proof of purchase (ie date purchased, site purchased from, your username etc) and upon verification of these details I will assist you in making sure you receive this updated download. Also, I will see to it that you are compensated for your original purchase, by gifting you another pattern from my store, and you will be given more than one option to choose from.

bottom of page