top of page

Sprout Hat

Updated: Jan 28, 2021

UPDATE 29 January, 2021: This design was recently requested by the Yarn Canada Website, to be listed for sale there, where it is also now available by direct download.

(The above link takes you straight to the listing.)

The Sprout Hat is a new, reversible hat design, designed to be worn slightly slouchy. Reversible as in, on the one side you see a lovely, rippled lace pattern, and on the other ... well take a look at this next photo, does it remind you of broccoli too? It's all I can think of when I look at it! But since I love broccoli, it isn't a problem for me at all - maybe I should knit a green one?

This hat is fun to knit and wear! It is designed to be slightly slouchy but is easily adapted to be worn as a beanie. There are 4 sizes to this design, starting with extra small adult/child. And there are 4 pages to the download. You only need to be able to work simple yarn overs, knit & purl stitches, and combine stitches in a decrease. There is a chart, as well as written instructions.

There are also a number of possibilities for construction:

1. Knit in a DK or a Light Worsted weight.

2. Knit 2 fingering weights together.

3. Knit a fingering weight and a lace weight mohair together.

3. Use one strand of each of the 2 yarns mentioned in the Ravelry listing, as I have done.

After all is said and done you should end up with

a lovely soft, squishy hat that will be super warm & cosy to wear.


Not only but also, as you read this ...

I am preparing to wing my way to Vancouver, Canada, and I leave tomorrow! I am very excited to be attending Knit City this year. Which is another reason I created the Sprout Hat. It is going to be one of my design companions for the trip, and if you happen to be there also, and see someone wearing a red one it will probably be me that you see! Please, come say hello if you spot me! I'll be away for nearly 2 weeks, spending time both in Vancouver and then across the border in Seattle. I look forward to seeing all the Vendors in the Market Place at Knit City, purchasing some yarn related souvenirs, seeing the trends, meeting & making new friends, hopefully meeting some of the Pod Casters I watch, and also to attending the Knit Night, the day after I arrive. Sounds pretty amazing doesn't it?!

And ... because I wanted to share some of my excitement with you,

I figured the best way to do that, would be to have a Ravelry party!

With the release of my Sprout Hat pattern, I now have 30 designs on Ravelry, so I have decided to celebrate this and my trip, by offering an extra special discount. There's a code that can be used as many times as you wish, so if you forget to add something to your cart after making a purchase, or you wish to go back in &purchase something else later on, you can do so before the offer ends.

The code is: knitcitykiwi

It entitles you to a 40% DISCOUNT on ALL MY DESIGNS

from Tuesday 1 October until just before midnight, Tuesday 8 October, 2019. (NZT)

... and ...

All 'Ravelers' who visit my store,

will receive an automatic (no code needed) 30% discount for the same period.

What more can I say? If you have been eyeing up some of my designs, this is your big opportunity for 2019. I look forward to coming back from Knit City with new and fresh ideas. I do have others lined up to be released at a later date of course. But it IS a lengthy process! And I will probably need time to come back down to earth properly after being away, and that may just mean there will be nothing ... for a little while.

So until we meet again, thank you once more for being on board

with Good to Go Knits Designs.

I sincerely appreciate each and every one of you!

Enjoy the Pattern Party!

Bronwyn

bottom of page