top of page

Ice Cream Fun ... in a shawl

Greetings, one and all!

I hope you've had a good week! Yes, here I am again - but please don't get used to weekly updates, because this is not happening for too much longer! I feel like I have almost been spamming you lately, so I'll be easing back again after this post.

I knit another version of my Ice Cream Fun Day Shawl.

And as a result, this 2018 design, has also been rewritten.

I therefore also have a special offer to mark the occasion ...

The pattern now flows better, and also now gives you the option to either knit it exactly as written, or to vary however you wish.I used a (solid) DROPS Brushed Alpaca Silk for my contrast again. The eagle eyed among you will notice that I actually used 2 different colours of this particular yarn, mainly because I ordered the wrong amount in the orange, and thankfully had some red left in the same yarn, from my Chrysten Shawl Design, which happened to work well. A little bit of creative licence went on, but it all came together nicely, in the end - phew! I paired the 2 colours with a lovely speckled yarn I purchased at Church Mouse Yarns and Teas in October, 2019 - when I had my big trip to Knit City in Vancouver, followed by a few days in Seattle, USA. I brought it back with me as a souvenir of my ferry trip to Bainbridge Island. The photo below shows this yarn with the orange contrast.

Basically, you need a recommended minimum of 800 m of yarn (total length) to knit this design. Which roughly equates to 2 skeins of fingering weight or whatever yarn you choose to use. You could easily use this design as the basis for a scrappy project, perhaps using up mini skeins or advent calendar purchases. The needle size stays constant throughout, which also means that a lace weight mohair would be suitable as a contrast/replacement for the DROPS Brushed Alpaca.

Now for the SPECIAL OFFER ... for 48 hours ...

FROM 12 am 23 April (tomorrow) UNTIL 11.59 pm 25 April, 2020 (NZT)

There will be an automatic 60% DISCOUNT applied to this design on Ravelry.

No code is needed, just add to your cart and the price will change.

(The image below is a picture of my original version)

This promotion is still running & ENDS at 11.59 pm, 30 April, 2020 NZT.

Sending the very best of regards once again, from my 'bubble' to yours,

Bronwyn

bottom of page