top of page

Festive Fever Cowl

For as long as I can remember I've been dreaming of ... a White Christmas!

A Christmas spent leisurely traveling the Northern Hemisphere, experiencing pleasant snowfalls, spectacular lighting displays and trees, with maybe a visit to a beautiful Nutcracker Ballet performance, a Dickensian Village, a Gingerbread Themed Adventure Park (if there is such a thing!) and an authentic Santa Claus Village thrown in for good measure! You can see that when I dream ~ I dream big! And ... the icing on the cake to all that, would of course be the opportunity to proudly wear gorgeous, hand knitted seasonal items designed by myself ~ designs that had became such best sellers that they easily funded my dream ~ and, given me spending money!

Ok ~ time to wake up now! The only thing remotely coming close to making that dream a realilty at the moment is my latest knitting design, the first in which I hope will be a developing Seasonal Series. So, yes, for now, at least ~ I shall have to be content with presenting to you ~ with absolute pleasure of course ... the Festive Fever Cowl ... but oh ... how I really would love to be able to wear it in another time zone!

This versatile piece was designed using a 200 gram Lincraft Cake with a length of 350 metres. You do not use the whole cake in this item, so a little bit of yarn cutting is an option if you so desire. I decided I wanted a particular colour at the top of my cowl, so I cut my yarn and rewound it in order to achieve that. The finished item is (approx) 86 cm (34'') in Circumference and 45 cm (18'') in Depth, so it is deep enough to wear over the head if needed for extra warmth, all while continuing to cover and keep your neck warm, at the same time.

As stated in a previous post, Lincraft Cakes are in essence, Australia's answer to the original (American) Caron Cakes. The colourway used in this design is called Terracotta. Very similar to the Caron Cake used in my Above Rubies Cowl design, the colour way of which is called Red Velvet. You may of course use any suitable yarn as a substitute, and play with the design to achieve the effect you want.

There are 5 pages to the download and to knit this design you will need to have a good working knowledge of the knitting of bobbles, together with simple lace stitches. It goes without saying, although I shall of course say it (how can I not?) ... that along with that you will also need the patience of a saint ~ to persevere with the bobbles as often as you have to in this pattern! Remember though ~ it will all be worth it in the end!

There is a chart included with the first section of the pattern, to help make life easier for Chart Lovers to work this section. And for those who are not yet chart lovers, you might be after this exciting experience! Believe it! But if in doubt, don't worry ~ there are also written instructions for the charted area.

In all there are three sections to the design ~ all clearly laid out for you in sequential order. And I counted ... there are 100 rows to work in total (if you count the cast off row). With only 120 stitches per row. So already some of you will be thinking, 'I could do that by Christmas!" Haha! I have seen enough on Social Media to know there are those out there who will attempt this!

So without further ado ... let's get down to business!

Purchase options for all my designs, including this one may be found here.

(Simply click on the link, then choose your preferred online platform to purchase and download your pattern).

bottom of page