top of page

Kaimai Sunset Shawlette

Previously released in 2017, I am re releasing this pattern in a different format ... read on to find out more, and ... see below for a 48 hour special offer!

The yarn for the prototype of this design, the Kaimai Sunset Shawlette, was purchased in a Michaels Store in Orange County, California in 2016, on my 1st visit to the USA. The original Kaimai Sunset Shawlette was knit with one (original) Caron Cake, colour combo Funfetti. The colours in the yarn reminded the beekeeper and I of some of the beautiful sunsets we are witness to in the Kaimai Ranges of the Western Bay of Plenty, near where we live. The beekeeper mentioned it to me and I informed him that I had also been thinking the exact same thing. A name was born so quickly! How I wish naming my other designs was as easy as this!

The 2nd sample I knit was using 2 strands of 4ply cotton from my stash, and I admit to being extremely happy with the result.

This design is knit sideways from tip to tip, and measures approx 248 cm (98'') in length (across) by 35 cm (14'') at it's deepest point. All increasing and decreasing is done on one side.

I would recommend this pattern to knitters with considerable experience, as there are a number of different stitches used to keep it interestingly unique. These include bobbles, slipped stitches and eyelet/knot effect stitches, as well as a rather effective lace flower motif which also features, though rather more prominently, in my Venetian Rose Blanket pattern, as well as in the other designs in my Venetian Rose Collection. There are several rows of stockinette (stocking stitch) inserted between the different textures.

I used 6 mm (USA 10) knitting needles which helps to give the item extra softness and drape. (Recommended size is 5 mm /USA 8). An ideal pattern to use as a stash buster, this is also a really fun knit!

To celebrate the relaunch of this design I am offering a 75% discount on Ravelry for 48 HOURS ONLY, from FRIDAY 19 JULY 2019, 8 pm NEW ZEALAND Time. No code is required, the price will change when you add it to your cart.

Purchase options for this and all my other designs, may be found by clicking on this link, from where you may then choose which platform you wish to purchase from.

bottom of page