top of page

Belle of the Ball Cape.

Vogue Knitting Live, San Francisco 2018 ... where it was all at for me once I found out that MY DESIGN, 'Belle of the Ball' Cape was a TOP TEN FINALIST in an International Design Contest, and was actually going to be modeled there! I am very happy to finally release the PATTERN for SALE, with a special INTRODUCTORY DISCOUNT offer. Please read on ...

The 'Magic Mohair Design' Contest was held to coincide with the release of the book Faerie Knitting, by renowned author Alice Hoffman and her knitting designer cousin, Lisa Hoffman.

I learned about the contest in July 2018. Submissions were due in August 2018. Plenty of time, haha! I had the yarn and knew straightaway which stitch pattern I would incorporate into a garment with a Fairy Tale theme, one of the requirements of the contest. Because the contest was also sponsored by Mohair South Africa, another requirement was that mohair needed to be a significant component of the yarn. My beautiful New Zealand Made Touch Yarns Mohair Merino was perfect, and itching to be used for something really special. I have also previously used this yarn with great success in my Kiwi Traveler Poncho Design.

One of my favourite Fairy Tales is Cinderella, so I happily used it for my theme. I felt it appropriate that Cinderella have something warm, soft and cozy to quickly slip over her head and around her shoulders when fleeing the ball. So I decided a cape would be perfect. I am sure her Fairy Godmother fully intended Cinderella have such an item to keep her warm and cosy. And, because I was very concerned that this important detail was (somehow) left out of the original story, I added it (back) in!

The Stitch Pattern is from a Barbara Walker Book. It is separated with bands of stockinette which helps to produce an effective, almost 3D effect. The cape is mainly worked flat, from the bottom up, and features a special, rolled edge hem. Shaping begins after the second 'garland' has been worked, continuing on into the shoulder area and around the neckline, and is offset by a lateral braid near the top. After the braid has been worked, the cape is joined to work in the round, so it may be easily slipped over the head. A picot bind off is worked to finish the garment. And when you're running to a coach about to turn into a pumpkin, you really don't have time to stop and tie a bow, so that is there for effect and stitched on afterwards!

The cape weighs a mere 260 gms. And yet it is so very warm, soft and cosy! It measures 143 cm (56'') around the bottom, 92 cm (36'') across the shoulders, and has a neck opening of 60 cm (24''). The area worked in the round, is a mere 4 cm (1.5'') deep. The length is 51 cm (20''). Less than 3 hanks were used in the construction of the Belle of the Ball Cape and needle sizes are 5 and 6 mm. (USA 8 and 10)

Until the End of July 2019 ...

I am offering Ravelry purchasers a 50% DISCOUNT on this design. No code is required. Just add it to your cart and the price will change. SHOP NOW.

bottom of page